Sensory play using rice

I am always looking for new and interesting activities for my toddler. Sensory play is an important developmental activity that we do very often. If we are working on the touch I will try to use natural materials as much as possible and tone down on the visual stimulation.

fullsizerender-20

Things you’ll need:

  1. A container of some sorts, nothing fancy. It can be a bowl, a cardboard shoe box, etc.
  2. Sensory medium. I mixed brown and white rice and added some flower shaped pasta. You can also use oatmeal, different shapes and sizes of pasta, dried beans or seeds, etc. I avoid sand or flour indoors just to facilitate clean-up.
  3. Little treasures for your little one to find. I used different little wood objects, but you can use small toys, lego blocks, little cars, whatever you think will spark interest in your kid.
  4. Tools for “digging” like spoons, spatulas, sand play shovels and rakes, sticks, etc.
  5. Optional. I drew contours on paper to do a little matching game with all the things Nathan was digging out.

fullsizerender-19

Even tough I expected to do most of the matching with the contours, I was pleasantly surprised to see Nathan also do it a couple of times with the tiny cubes.fullsizerender-17

fullsizerender-16

I hope you liked this post.

Have fun!

Leave a Reply

